Skip to main content
Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo
Dr. Jamal Deen, a professor and the Canada Research Chair in Information Technology in the Faculty of Engineering

Engineering professor elected to European Academy of Sciences and Arts

Jamal Deen, a professor and the Canada Research Chair in Information Technology in the Faculty of Engineering, has been elected as a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts (EASA).

Mar 04, 2015

This article was first published on Daily News. Read the original article.

Deen has been published extensively in the areas of micro­/nano­electronics and optoelectronics, which includes the study of how devices transmit, detect, store and control electrical and optical signals.

Wireless technologies, medical diagnostic systems, electronic cameras and optical fiber communications are examples of systems using nano­ and opto­electronic devices.

Based in Salzburg, Austria, the academy brings together more than 1,500 scholars, including 29 Nobel Laureates, from around the globe focusing on scientific, social, cultural and ethical issues.

The EASA’s seven branches include humanities, medicine, arts, natural sciences, social sciences/law and economics, technical and environmental sciences, and world religions.

“Professor Deen is a world leader in micro­ and nano­electronics and optoelectronics. His discoveries that further the fundamentals of the physics of semiconductor devices combine physics­-based modeling with clever experiments,” said Ishwar Puri, McMaster’s Dean of Engineering.

“These contributions have been broadly recognized as being truly extraordinary for their originality and rigour, and their blend of theory with practice. McMaster Engineering and I are proud to count him as an exceptional colleague, educator and scholar.”

“I am truly humbled by this great honour that I will cherish,” Deen said. “This recognition means a lot to me and especially my family for their unwavering support throughout my career. Also, while I am being honored, this honor also brings special recognition to the exceptional students, researchers and collaborators I have been fortunate to work with throughout my career. They all share with me in this prestigious recognition.”

The ceremonies relating to the induction will take place March 6-7, 2015.