Skip to main content
Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo

McMaster engineer elected RSC’s Academy of Science President

McMaster’s Jamal Deen has been elected President of the Royal Society of Canada’s Science Academy.

Oct 06, 2014

This article was first published on Daily News. Read the original article.

Deen, a professor of electrical and computer engineering, has published extensively in the areas of micro-, nano- and optoelectronics and is a fellow of nine national academies and societies.

In seeking the Academy’s presidency, Deen told colleagues a priority was working with sister academies.

“To resolve many national and global issues, interdisciplinary collaboration is vital,” he said.

He also said he looked forward to working with and supporting members of the College of New Scholars, which include McMaster’s Sarah Brophy, Catherine Connelly and Gregory Steinberg.

Read: Engineering professor honoured four times in one week

Ishwar Puri, McMaster’s dean of Engineering, said the Royal Society’s Science Academy will be well-served by its new President.

“The members of the Academy of Science of the Royal Society of Canada have made a very inspired choice in electing Jamal Deen their president,” he said. “Jamal is a truly outstanding academic whose accomplishments are too numerous to detail. We wish him the best as becomes steward of the hopes and aspirations of the Academy.”

Deen has received honours and recognitions, awarded from both scholarly and community organizations, throughout his career.

In 2013 he was given the McNaughton Gold Medal – the highest award for engineers in Canada.

That same year, he was also given a McMaster Engineering Research Award and a Vice Chancellor’s Award from the University of the West Indies.

Deen is senior Canada Research Chair in Information Technology and director of McMaster’s Micro-and Nano-Systems Laboratory.